Mad Max: Fury Road

What a lovely Film..
What a lovely Film..

Mad Max: Fury Road is one of those movies that I was on the fence about seeing. Growing up I had seen only two of the original Mad Max’s with Mel Gibson. They are cult classics but I just thought it was funny how all the bad buys dressed like WWE (back when I was little WWF) wrestlers. So I am glad to say my expectations were blown away by this film.

Let me begin by saying this film is different from a lot of other post apocalyptic movies of late. While most of the movies of this genre over complicate themselves with an excessive amount of exposition to help the audience understand what is going on, the plot of this movie is very linear. The movie establishes its world in the first 10 minutes and after that you watch the race for survival unfold. You will not find any crazy prophecies or CGI monsters in this movie.  This movie is about adventure, twisted metal, and killer instincts, so the characters reveal themselves through action, and that makes for a very fun and exciting time.  There are a wide range of colorful characters in this movie, but the mostly silent Max  (played great by Tom Hardy) shares most of the film with Charlize Theron’s Furiosa, who may just steal the show in her own right.

But the main star of this film are the many action sequences which put a smile on my face. I am not exaggerating when I say this movie has pulled off some of the most beautiful, well choreographed, action sequences ever put on film.  I felt like a kid watching the world’s greatest stunt show at Six Flags and just when I thought I had seen it all, a new element would get added to a scene and I would stay glued to the screen.  I must say the music, the sound of engines revving, the explosions,  I just could not be happier seeing movie magic back in its purest form. All I can say is, if movies can still perform new actions and real stunts like this, then audiences should beg for more.

I give this film, a GOLD medal. Because this is how adventure movie making should be done.

Leave a Reply

